Career Curveballs: How I Learned to Tame the Eg

Link

Netter Capital Partners

Career Curveballs: How I Learned to Tame the Eg

The worst setback in my career took place after I had graduated from medical school in India in the 1970s, came to America, and set my heart on doing research in endocrinology. I destroyed my dream overnight, with very long-term consequences.

The most prestigious research fellowships were those in Boston medicine, and I was fortunate. I was offered one in an endocrinology program at a hospital affiliated with Tufts University that took only two or three new fellows a year. It was headed by a world-famous researcher in the field. My time would be divided between laboratory work, which would lead to publishing research papers, and seeing patients in the clinic.

I was fascinated by being in the lab, and there was no way to foresee the blowup that would end my fellowship and almost my whole career. What mattered was…

View original post 707 more words

Leave a Reply

